Time for Cold-Weather Babywearing!

15 Oct

It’s getting chilly out there! (well, here in the Northeast, anyway) Time to chat about cold-weather babywearing

When Jane was little, my go-to cold-weather babywearing gear was my over-sized coat that I wore when I was pregnant. I would carry her on my front, put the coat on, and zip both of us in. (Safety note: It’s always better to keep a young baby on your body before putting a coat on, rather than having a coat between you and baby, so you can check his/her temperature and needs. Also, when using the coat method, you have to be sure that baby’s airway is always clear, not covered by fabric, and be careful not to overdress baby if he/she is going to be inside a warm coat on your warm body.)

Then, Jane got a bit bigger. I’ll never forget the evening we ended up in a VERY cold and snowy Morristown, NJ with no cover that would fit over Jane in the sling, and we had to trek across the town to get to where we were going. All we had was a Maya Wrap ring sling, Jane’s car seat poncho, hats/gloves/booties, and a blanket. I really wish I had a picture of what we created! It was kind of ridiculous, but we made it work… and I knew I needed some sort of cover.

So, we got ourselves a Catbird Baby Fleece Cover, and I LOVED it! I took it everywhere in the cold weather. My favorite part of it was that you could pre-snap it on the carrier, get baby on your front or back, and then just tuck the little legs (or growing legs, in Jane’s case) in. The top part can be shaped up so it covers baby’s head a bit to shield from winds, and it’s super warm. You can also use it with any mei tai or soft structured carrier! Here’s us hopping around NYC on a chilly February day with a Boba and our Catbird Baby Fleece Cover

Catbird Baby Fleece NYC

Last year, I was introduced to a unique new product – The Kowalli Cover. At first glance, it looks a little strange. A toga-style cover that encases you and baby. But, then again, babywearing, in general, can look a little strange to the average on-looker! πŸ™‚

The Kowalli Cover allows you to cover you and baby in any carrier…any! Baby can be on your front, back, or hip. There’s no other cover that can do this, without shelling out the money for a babywearing coat, and even most babywearing coats do not allow the hip position. The first day I gave it a try it was pretty cold out. So, I put Jane in a fleece coat and hat, popped her in a ring sling, put my coat over both of us (though, Jane does not fit inside the coat, anymore) and used the Kowalli over top. It kept both of us warm, and sealed in the warmth of my coat, even though I couldn’t zip it up. It was so easy to slip on and off, no head holes to worry about, no buttons or zippers in awkward places. Here’s a pic, and please excuse my “It’s been a long day” tired look!

Kowalli first try

As Jane grows, we still use the Kowalli, and I really love how easy it is, and how warm it is. We used it in early fall this year, for our evening walks around town. I love how easy to adjust it is, as well. So, when it wasn’t that cold, we kept it loose. But, in real cold, you can tighten up the top and bottom by cinching the cords. So easy! It’s also one size, so no need to worry about ordering a size and then having it not fit if your body changes or baby’s body grows. It’s such a great invention!

Kowalli Walk

Check out the NEW Kowalli solid colors!

kowallifront kowallibackcarry

47 Responses to “Time for Cold-Weather Babywearing!”

  1. Dawn Sarahs-Borchelt October 15, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    My favorite color is turtle/eggplant!

    • Lawrence Seetoh October 18, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      turtle/eggplant is lovely πŸ˜€

  2. Justice Montgomery October 15, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    I love the Onyx/Shining Sea! Thanks for the giveaway!

  3. Karissa Mlyniec October 15, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    I like onxy kowalli susbscribed to the blog. mrsklm at ya hoo

  4. Taylor October 15, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    What a great way to keep baby warm! Seems like it would work well for hiking. My favorite color is the onyx/rose petal.

  5. lace October 15, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    I love the penguin colors.

  6. Megan M October 15, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    This looks like it’d be great for busy school mornings! I like the pink one surprisingly.

  7. Sarah Jane Mastenbrook October 15, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    I like penguin the most!

  8. Allyson Sandak October 15, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    This looks so cozy! I love the green and purple one.

  9. prisca tsai October 16, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    love that!
    Color wise, I like the Penguin, though i’d be worried that the white part is going to get dirty quickly… So if I happen to win one of these cozy covers, I would pick the Onyx/shining sea or the Onyx/black ;-))

  10. Gladys Dunbar October 17, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    It looks cozy and easy to put on. Love the Onyx/black color!

  11. Shana October 18, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Subscribed. Like Turtle/Eggplant

  12. YL Tan October 18, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    I like Onyx/black best. πŸ™‚

  13. Rachel D. October 18, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    Definitely onyx/rose petal! We love all things girly in this house! πŸ™‚

  14. Janelle October 18, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    I like the penguin,too!

  15. Jaymee Houser October 18, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Penguin!

  16. Christy October 18, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    I like the eggplant/turtle one. πŸ™‚

  17. Carolyn Clark Photography October 18, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Great idea for keeping baby warm. With our first we’d tuck a blanket around her carrier, this seems much warmer and easier! I like the Onyx.

  18. Andrea October 18, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Onyx/shining sea….but they are all lovely!

  19. Aimee Hood October 18, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Turtle and Eggplant!!!

  20. Amanda Grell October 18, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I actually love the penguin version! I think the cream color up top would disguise the drool/spit up that my son would inevitably provide!! HA,HA!

  21. Sonya Quertermous October 18, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I love the Onyx/shining sea color!

  22. Sabrina Bri Radke October 18, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    I love the turtle/eggplant and the turtle/camel!

  23. Ange October 18, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    I love the Turtle/Eggplant. Though they are all lovely.

  24. Debbie Kaplan Werlin October 18, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    black/onyx

  25. Sarah M October 18, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    I love the turtle/eggplant

  26. Heidi C. October 18, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    what a cool product! thanks for the fun giveaway!
    I’m liking the onyx/shining sea.

  27. Olivia L October 18, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    I like the onyx/shining sea and the onyx/black covers.

  28. Gena Wiltsek October 18, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    It looks so cozy! My favorite color is the onyx/shining sea.

  29. Jenny B. October 18, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    I like the onyx black one, I think it would go with everything.

    • quirkybaby October 22, 2012 at 6:42 am #

      Congratulations, Jenny! You are the winner of the KozyHat and SnuggleBoots in Penguin color πŸ™‚ I’ll email you today.

  30. tara romanowich October 18, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    onyx/black is my favorite!! πŸ™‚

  31. Anh October 18, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    Love the onyx and rose petal colors. I am girly at heart.

  32. Dana Gayner October 18, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    onyx/shining sea. Blue brings out my son’s blue eyes.

  33. Jennifer K October 18, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    Ooooh, I love the onyx/black! What a fantastic product πŸ™‚

  34. Lauren B October 19, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    I like onyx/black or turtle/eggplant… tough to pick! πŸ™‚

  35. Lindsay October 19, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    Turtle/camel is my favorite;) and.is a pretty close match to my carrier!

  36. Danielle Hurt October 21, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    I like the onyx and black, wouldn’t show as much dirt or food as is the case with my little one!

  37. Wendy McBride October 21, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    My favorite is Onyx/Shining Sea!

    wendym at cableone dot net

  38. Erica October 21, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    The Penguin is my favorite because of the matching boots.

  39. quirkybaby October 22, 2012 at 6:45 am #

    Jenny B. is the winner of the set, pulled by random.org generator. Congratulations, Jenny! πŸ™‚

  40. JLin October 22, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    I like color onyx/black

  41. Wei October 22, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    black

  42. Ren October 22, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    black grey.

  43. Lori sapp September 15, 2014 at 8:01 am #

    Turtle eggplant baby!πŸ’œπŸ’š

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby, it’s cold out there! (well, chilly…) | QuirkyBaby Blog - September 17, 2013

    […] Here’s my blog from last season for more info on these great accessories, in-stock now! Β http://blog.quirkybaby.com/2012/10/15/time-for-cold-weather-babywearing-and-a-giveaway/ […]

Leave a Reply

